We love our SPONSORS!

MCTA Starter Horse Trials

2024 MCTA Starter Horse Trials 

Sunday, October 6, 2024

Tranquillity Manor Farm, 4101 Stansbury Mill Rd, Monkton, MD

A great starter level horse trials for horses and riders newer to eventing or looking for more experience in an inviting setting.  This show offers special MCTA Member trophies and double points toward Year End awards.

Volunteers needed! Sign up on EventingVolunteers.com

And get your membership fee back through your discounted entry, plus member-only trophies and perks!

Closing Date:  Oct. 1st, 2023

Divisions (Open/Jr):

Introductory (2023 Intro Test A; Stadium mostly Xs; XC up to 18” of mostly logs/poles near the rings, will have terrain). Rider safety and having fun are the two primary goals of this division. A horse handler may lead and/or accompany to ensure the mount stays on its best behavior (example).
Elementary (2022 USEA Starter Test A; Stadium and Cross Country up to 24”, XC will have terrain and options)
Starter (2022 USEA Starter Test A; Stadium and Cross Country up to 2’3”; XC may include an up bank, terrain, a faux ditch, and option at water)
Beginner Novice (2022 BN Test A; Stadium and Cross Country up to 2’7”)
Novice (2022 Novice Test A; Stadium and Cross Country up to 2’11”)
Note:  Open/Jr Divisions may be divided or combined if entries warrant. If not noted on entry, rider will be put into Open Division.

Course Maps: 
(posted here Oct. 7 after 4pm)
Introductory (18″, white #s on green square)
Elementary (2′, white #s on red square)
Starter (2’3″, orange #s on blue square)
Beginner Novice (2’7″, black #s on yellow square)
Novice (2’11”, black #s on white square)


We have combined the Novice entries into a single division, and we’ve combined the Intro entries into a single division. All other divisions are Jr and Open.

Good news!  All waitlisted entries have been accepted!

All riders please check the Entry/Status Link to see if you owe anything.

Awards: Trophies and Overall ribbons to 6th place. Ribbons awarded if there are 3 or more starters per division. Trophies are awarded to MCTA members, if you want scores to be considered for trophies you MUST JOIN BEFORE the closing date. MCTA members will also qualify for an MCTA high point award for each division. TIP prizes will be awarded for each division.   

HT Entry Fee:  $150 – non-MCTA Members, $120 – MCTA Members
Combined Test (D/SJ/no XC):  $70
Dressage only (Test of Choice):  $35 per test or two tests for $60.  Ribbons awarded if 3 or more starters per division.

Tentative Time Schedule:
Sat:  Cross country course opens for walking on Saturday Oct 7 at 4pm.
Sun:  Dressage 8am, Stadium 9:45am, Cross country 10:00am
Ride Times will be posted to www.mdcta.com in the week prior to the event.

Important Information:
Vet and Farrier on call. * Limited water, bring your own. * Food available. * No unleashed dogs. * Event will follow USEF rules for Eventing * Body protectors required for XC and Helmets required when mounted * Organizer reserves the right to divide divisions into sections based on age and experience. * Medical armbands are recommended. * No standing martingales. * We are using Paper Pinnies, you will need a pinny holder!!

Perpetual trophies are awarded at the Starter Event for the highest placed MCTA member at each level.  To be eligible for these lovely trophies riders must be MCTA members before the competition closing date, so be sure your membership is up to date or join us as a new member by the time you enter.  Your membership may pay for itself in your discounted entry fee!!!

You have to be a Member to win: Join Now!

The Scavenger’s Choice Trophy (Elementary)
The Blackberry Bowl (Introductory)
The Valerie Hunt Memorial Trophy (Jr/YR, BN)
The Buttermilk Sky Memorial Trophy (Sr, BN)
The Sunstone Creek Memorial Trophy (Jr/YR, N)
The Sunwood Spring Trophy (Sr, N)

The Scavenger’s Choice Trophy (any age, Intro and Elem.)
Karen Rainey / Lavago

The Blackberry Bowl (any age, Starter)
Brooke Hooper / Double Dutch

The Valerie Hunt Memorial Trophy (Jr/YR, BN)
Madalyn Caiazzo / Lexington

The Buttermilk Sky Memorial Trophy (Sr, BN)
Eliza Herman / Dakota

The Sunstone Creek Memorial Trophy (Jr/YR, N)
Evangeline Rhodes / Diamond Rio

The Sunwood Spring Trophy (Sr, N)
Kathi Law / Brooklynville